Accessorize On A Budget

Time for another creative inspiration DIY post! Today’s topic is “Bridal Accessories on a Budget”. When it is your special day, it might seem silly to spend so much money on accessories for a dress you will only wear once. However, as I always say, “this is the most important day of your life and the fact that you only get to wear the stuff once is the PERFECT reason to go all out! This doesn’t mean you need to spend a fortune though”. Below I will show you a few ways to save some money on your accessories while still keeping them special and all about you.Image

One item that I decided to make myself was my garter. Every bride should wear a garter, and you should make it personalized since either your groom will keep it forever or you might in a shadow box or something.  As I was shopping around for the perfect garter I realized how pricey it was going to be. For around 30 dollars you can get one of the cheap generic garters that they sell at every craft store and bridal store, you know the ones; White silky garter with a colored ribbon in the middle to match your wedding, and maybe even a bow or flower. Can we just say “cookie cutter”? So I checked into buying a hand made one on Etsy. These are pretty and unique but can run around 40-50 and higher.

And this is where my creativity pops in. I said to myself, “I could make my own and make it exactly how I want. I already know how to sow, and It will be personalized which will be even more special to my fiancé and myself”.

Making your own is simple as long as you know how to do a basic stitch with a needle and thread.

  1. Go to craft store and choose your lace or material. When you enter the fabric section, there are usually a few shelves full of different laces and ribbons and such on white spools. You can buy these buy the yard and most of them are THE PERFECT size for a garter. You can get just one of them or buy several and layer them to make your garter exactly how you want. I chose one that had black and leopard print because half my closet and bedroom expresses my love for leopard. I bought 1 yard and had a few inches left over.
    2122
    Next you will a sowing needle, some coordinating thread, and some elastic. I chose black elastic (about 1/3 of an inch thick or ½ inch thick). I actually had the needle and thread and elastic already at my house so if you have some or your mom does, use it!!
  2. Lastly you will need whatever embellishments you want. I chose a rhinestone T (for Tora) and I found it in the jewelry making aisle. Craft stores have TONS of fabric flowers that make great embellishments. Check the jewelry section, the little girls clothing section (where you find the T shirts and head bands and such for little girls to decorate) and the scrapbook section. Or just ask an employee where to find flower embellishments! I had fun just wandering all over looking for different things to decorate my garter with.23

Now to put the garter together is fairly simple. You will want to start by sowing the elastic into a circle. Measure it to your thigh but make sure it’s tight. Remember it is elastic so it will stretch, and you don’t want it sliding down while walking down the aisle. Walking pushes it down so it needs to be tight. Next you simply start sowing the lace or material on making sure to “bunch” the material up to create the gathered look and to make sure it stretches when you put the elastic over your leg. Just sow and bunch as you go along and voila! Finally, sow on your embellishments however your creative mind sees fit.

One more item you can make for yourself is your jewelry. Brides typically go with pearls, something shiny, etc. Other ideas are to go with blue jewelry for your “something blue” or to go with jewelry that matches your bouquet. Whatever you choose though, you can easily make it yourself to avoid searching for the perfect piece only to pay 100 dollars for a set of earrings.

In my opinion, “it is always more special to be wearing something that no one else has or will ever wear. This is your special day and no one else, so why wear the same jewelry as someone else?” 

It might seem intimidating if you have never made jewelry. But honestly it is quite easy, just go to a craft store and go to the jewelry making aisle. First you need to have an idea in your mind of what style jewelry you want. Do you want hoop or dangly earrings? Long or short necklace? Then start looking at all the different bead and jewel options and see if there are any embellishments that stand out. Once you have your design picked out then you will just need to choose the appropriate string or chain, and clasps. I would suggest looking up some jewelry tutorials and blogs online before you go, and these will explain what type of clasp is needed for what.

Image24

Leave a Reply

